Our Syllabus and Grading

The aim of the syllabus is to provide the framework for instructors and students. This syllabus allows each student to develop at their own pace and ability towards these goals. Gradings are an important opportunity to help students gauge their own progress.

The structure of the syllabus helps students to work progressively towards their black belt, through mental and physical development. It is worth noting that although many people see black belt as the ultimate goal, for martial artists, it is the beginning of their learning.

The word Dan means first step. Our Syllabus is used for students 5 years and above.

Suggested time between grades:

12th Kyu – 11th Kyu
12 Hours Minimum each grade

10th Kyu – 4th Kyu
20 Hours Minimum each grade

3rd Kyu – 1st Kyu
40 Hours Minimum each grade

1st Kyu – Shodan
1 Year minimum

Students will also need to attend certain courses to be eligible to grade.

Time between dan grades:

Shodan to Nidan
2 years minimum

Nidan to Sandan
3 years minimum

It is also at the instructors discretion to invite students to grade before the minimum time required.

Order of Kyu belts

School gradings

We offer students that attend their karate classes as a Breakfast or after school club to also have the chance to progress and take part in grading’s.

As School clubs only run during term times and class times are usually less than classes that run outside of school, we have an extended Grading system 16th-13th Kyu.

This system has been put into practice so that students also have the chance of continuous development of progression and achievement.

16th Kyu – White Belt/Red Stripe

15th Kyu – White Belt/Yellow Stripe

14th Kyu – White Belt/Green Stripe

13th Kyu – White Belt/Purple Stripe

After passing 13th Kyu, Students will join our Syllabus system which starts from 12th Kyu.

Students that attend out of school classes, start from 12th Kyu

12th Kyu – White Belt/Blue Stripe

11th Kyu – White Belt/Brown Stripe

10th Kyu – Red Belt

9th Kyu – Blue Belt

8th Kyu – Purple Belt/White Stripe

7th Kyu – Purple Belt

6th Kyu – Yellow Belt

5th Kyu – Orange Belt

4th Kyu – Green Belt

3rd Kyu – Brown Belt/White Stripe

2nd Kyu – Brown Belt

1st Kyu – Brown Belt/Black Stripe